1970 The Faculty Association was established. Aurelio Calderon became the first Faculty Association president.

A Ford Foundation grant enabled the University to hook up one terminal on campus to a computer owned by Standford.

The Center was called the De La Salle Computer Center.

1973   De La Salle opened its campus to female students.
The College of Industrial Technology opened.
A double degree Liberal Arts-Commerce (LIACOM) program was established.
1974   The South Manila Inter-Institutional Consortium composed of De La Salle University, Philippine Christian College, Philippine Normal College, St. Scholastica’s College, and St. Paul College was established.

De La Salle College was granted university status under the presidency of Brother H. Gabriel Connon FSC.

The director continued to be the religious superior of the Brothers’ community, and the president as the chief executive officer of De La Salle University, Inc. under a Board of Trustees (BOT), composed of five Brothers and ten laymen. The BOT reported to the corporation consisting of 51% Brothers and 49% laymen.
1976   Juan Y. Medrano, who served De La Salle University for more than 50 years as a Grade School teacher, was given a “Letter of Affiliation to the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools.”  It was the highest honor being conferred to lay partners by the Brothers’ Superior General in Reims.
1977 The Office of Research was established.
1978 Br. Alphonsus Bloemen Hall was built. It became popularly known as the College Canteen.
De La Salle University started phasing out the Grade School Department with the intention of transferring it to the De La Salle-Zobel campus in Alabang, Muntinlupa.
Br. Andrew Gonzalez FSC was named University President. He would serve until1991.

The Br. Gabriel Connon FSC Hall for the offices of the Student Personnel Services (SPS) and student organizations and the William J. Shaw Hall for faculty rooms were built.

DLSU Web site Copyright Information Inquiries Feedback DLSUnet usage policy Disclaimer IT Helpdesk

Copyright 2010. All Rights Reserved. De La Salle University
2401 Taft Avenue, 1004 Manila, Philippines

This page was modified last Wednesday, December 09, 2009
You may send your comments to the Web Development Team